Oven Mits

Reaction score
I have several oven mits! I have some hanging on my wall, some stuffed in a drawer, and some in a cabinent. I usually get them as ge oven mits around Christmas time from friends who know I love to bake.
I have burned through my fair share of them. (Yes, I really mean I have burned them on accident by bumping the bulky mit on the stove or in the hot oven.)
How many do I really need though? How many should I keep on hand? Do you have a really great brand or suggestion of a fantastic oven mit?

Reaction score
When I got my first apartment, I was on a low budget to furnish and get my life together on my own. As a baker, I obviously needed the essentials before getting into any home-warming recipes! I got a set of pink polka dot oven mitts + pot holders at the dollar store, and honestly, they have worked amazingly for over 3 years now, and only one set out of the 2 sets that I own. What I like about them is that the mitt itself is cloth, but the "palm" or underside is heat-proof rubber. I hadn't seen this before, but I love it because it works double as extra heat resistance as well as grip on hot pans and cookie sheets. I'm not sure if the fancy-pants gourmet retailers make their oven mitts this way, but it really is a genius idea, and if I was to ever recommend an oven mitt (which who would have thought!) I'd recommend getting one that has that silicone padding. Oven mitts do seem like a cute gift idea for the baker in your life, but I agree, how many do you really need?

Reaction score