Overfilling cupcakes!

Reaction score
Help! I've been baking cupcakes for quite a few years now. I ALWAYS overfill the liners and then I'm scraping the bowl to finish my last few. I've done so many tricks in the book and no matter what I always miscalculate! Does anyone have any tips or ideas that I could try for my next batch?

Reaction score
Do you have a uniform scoop like an ice-cream-type scoop? That will give you a uniform measurement, and a trigger-release to get the batter out. In general, you want to fill the cup/liner about 2/3 full, but it can also depend on what type of cake batter you're making and what kind of rise you're going to get out of it.

Another option is to weigh your batter. So if you made your batter in your stand mixer bowl. you'd first want to take another bowl, put it on your scale and tare (zero it out), then add the batter. If your batter is to make 24 cupcakes, or 12, you divide the weight by the number of cakes. Grams will be easier than pounds and ounces. Then put a cupcake liner on the scale, and put in batter by teaspoonful, until you get to the correct weight per unit. From there you should be able to eyeball the same amount of batter.

I found that even when I did weigh my individual yeasted dinner rolls, they still baked up into different heights, and that's still possible for the cupcakes, although if your leavener was evenly distributed it shouldn't be that much different.