Tips for Perfecting Your Banana Nut Bread Recipe

Reaction score
I've been playing with this recipe for 45 years. Makes 5 loaves using the aluminum foil pans.

10 or so very ripe bananas (I use about 8 cups of puree)
5 eggs
1 pound softened butter
4 cups chopped walnuts (about 1 pound)
4 1/2 cups flour
3 1/2 cups white sugar
1 table spoon baking soda
1 tea spoon salt

Convection bake at 330°F (regular bake at 350°) about an hour. Bake until internal temp is 195° for very moist, or up to 215° for drier bread.

Don't be fooled and take it out too early or it will fall in the middle. Use a meat thermometer.

I don't know if it makes any difference, but the original recipe called for melted butter.

Also, I add a table spoon of baking powder as well. In my youth, I just thought it would make it better. Is it helping or hurting? It's been so long since I tried it without.

Lately I have been evaporating the puree a bit to concentrate the banana flavor and remove the moisture to prevent it from falling.

My question is: The bread is a little fragile. Do I need to develop gluten? I may be hindering that with the way I mix.

I know the standard thing to do is mix all wet ingredients, then add the flour, but I have been adding the puree at the end.

From what I have been reading, the butter prevents gluten from forming, so would it be better to add the puree before the flour?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Reaction score
I've been playing with this recipe for 45 years. Makes 5 loaves using the aluminum foil pans.

5 eggs
1 pound softened butter
4 1/2 cups flour
3 1/2 cups white sugar
1 tea spoon salt

Convection bake at 330°F (regular bake at 350°) about an hour. Bake until internal temp is 195° for very moist, or up to 215° for drier bread.

Don't be fooled and take it out too early or it will fall in the middle. Use a meat thermometer.

I don't know if it makes any difference, but the original recipe called for melted butter.