Baking Tips: How to Store Mixed Ingredients for Later Use

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

im new to baking and just baking recently, I want to make this cake
My question is, my oven is not that large to fit 3 9 inch fun, only 1 can fit in. After mixing all the ingredients for the cake, where do i store the remaining mixed ingredients (which is supposed to be for the 2nd and 3rd fun)? is it ok if I leave it cover under room temperature? or should i put in refrigerator?

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

im new to baking and just baking recently, I want to make this cake
My question is, my oven is not that large to fit 3 9 inch fun, only 1 can fit in. After mixing all the ingredients for the cake, where do i store the remaining mixed ingredients (which is supposed to be for the 2nd and 3rd fun)? is it ok if I leave it cover under room temperature? or should i put in refrigerator?

If the cake has beaten egg whites it in, you cannot let it sit after mixing.

If the batter is mixed using the creamed butter and sugar method, it can sit on the counter at most for an hour depending on the type of leavening.

If it’s leavened with all baking powder the batter will fare better as baking powder is double acting. If it’s a combination of baking powder and baking soda, the rise will be more affected as baking soda activates once, and immediately when it come in contact with an acid and moisture. So as it sits, the activated baking soda will begin to lose its leavening powder.

The batter that is not baked right away will have a slightly different texture and rise than the batter immediately baked after mixing.

Reaction score
If the cake has beaten egg whites it in, you cannot let it sit after mixing.

If the batter is mixed using the creamed butter and sugar method, it can sit on the counter at most for an hour depending on the type of leavening.