Shredded Baking Apple in Fruit Pies?

Reaction score
Hello!

I've been making pies for almost five years now. Some of the recipes I have for cherry, blueberry, or other fruit pies call for shredding a small baking apple (golden delicious is recommended) and adding it into the pie. Today, I decided to experiment and make a cherry pie without the shredded apple to see what happens (I'll post results, of course).

I was curious: does anyone know what function the shredded apple serves? It doesn't seem like it would influence flavor much. Is it a texture or binding agent in these cases? When I compare similar recipes, I don't notice any particular substitutions in the fruit pies without the shredded baking apple.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Apple is naturally high in pectin. Pectin acts as a natural thickner.

Fruit releases moisture when it's subjected to heat. Since common thickeners, flour, cornstarch, tapioca starch, all perform differentl based heat and moisture, a finely shredded apple is added as a failsafe. Some fruit like a blueberry are impossible to gauge for juice. Last Fourth of July I made blueberry pies and despite the considerable tapioca I put in as a thickener the pies filled with juice. So my sister had the bright idea to drain off the juice and we used it as a syrup for ice cream.

There's also the aesthetics. Flour create a very very cloudy fillingg. Cornstarch can be extremely gummy looking filling. And tapioca when subjected to heat over a long period of time actually breaks down and loses its ability to bind. So those are some of reasons apple is added to filling.