Simple Cake failure

Reaction score
Hi
Ive been baking for a few years now and have baked all types of cakes and biscuits. The one cake ive had a problem with believe it or not is the most simple, the Victoria sponge. When I bake this cake I always find on taking it out of the oven the centre of the cakes have not cooked, the sponges rise but soon collapse into a soggy mess. I have baked two sponges at a time in the oven, and also put in the bakes separately but to no avail, always the same bad results. The recipe I use is 8oz butter, 8oz caster sugar, 4 eggs, 8oz self raising flour, 2 level teaspoons of baking powder. I have also wondered about the oven temp but every other bake I make comes out well, I wouldn't think that would be the problem otherwise all bakes would be affected. Any suggestions would be very welcome. Thank You.

Reaction score
Hi
Ive been baking for a few years now and have baked all types of cakes and biscuits. The one cake ive had a problem with believe it or not is the most simple, the Victoria sponge. When I bake this cake I always find on taking it out of the oven the centre of the cakes have not cooked, the sponges rise but soon collapse into a soggy mess. I have baked two sponges at a time in the oven, and also put in the bakes separately but to no avail, always the same bad results. The recipe I use is 8oz butter, 8oz caster sugar, 4 eggs, 8oz self raising flour, 2 level teaspoons of baking powder. I have also wondered about the oven temp but every other bake I make comes out well, I wouldn't think that would be the problem otherwise all bakes would be affected. Any suggestions would be very welcome. Thank You.

Although I can identify already a problem with the recipe, I need additional information to assist you.

What is your mixing method: creaming or all in one?

Are you mixing with a hand mixer, stand mixer, or by hand? If by hand, do you own a mixer? What type?

What type of oven do you have: fan assist or conventional?