Sponge cake texture

Reaction score
Hi I am new to group. I treated myself to Kenwood electric mixer (model MultiOne) as I had been using an electric hand mixer and my sponges were great, but my sponges since using new electric stand mixer definitely denser, any tips and secrets to get really light sponges using my new machine please, thanks

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! :) It's odd that your sponges are denser from using the new mixer, I presume you're using the same recipe? Make sure you cream the butter and sugar together first thoroughly, you want it to be light and fluffy before adding the eggs (one by one). When you add the flour you need to be careful not to overmix, which is easier said than done with a mixer. Too much mixing once the flour is added will build up the gluten, which is something you want to avoid with cakes.

On a related note, what do you think of the MultiOne? I've been tempted by it myself, but I was put off by the fact that the food processor attachment is quite small.

Reaction score
Hi I am new to group. I treated myself to Kenwood electric mixer (model MultiOne) as I had been using an electric hand mixer and my sponges were great, but my sponges since using new electric stand mixer definitely denser, any tips and secrets to get really light sponges using my new machine please, thanks
Welcome to the forum! :) It's odd that your sponges are denser from using the new mixer, I presume you're using the same recipe? Make sure you cream the butter and sugar together first thoroughly, you want it to be light and fluffy before adding the eggs (one by one). When you add the flour you need to be careful not to overmix, which is easier said than done with a mixer. Too much mixing once the flour is added will build up the gluten, which is something you want to avoid with cakes.