Thawing and baking frozen bread dough

Reaction score
i've baked challah bread quite a few times. decided to split the batch in half and bake half right away the other half i wrapped well and stuck in the freezer for one week. now i want to bake it again. how long should it thaw. i was thinking to stick it in the fridge first thing when i get up, go to work and then when i get home 7 hours later to bake it. do i need to let it sit at room temp first for a while? this is my first time to try the frozen dough thing. advice is appreciated! thanks

Reaction score
i've baked challah bread quite a few times. decided to split the batch in half and bake half right away the other half i wrapped well and stuck in the freezer for one week. now i want to bake it again. how long should it thaw. i was thinking to stick it in the fridge first thing when i get up, go to work and then when i get home 7 hours later to bake it. do i need to let it sit at room temp first for a while? this is my first time to try the frozen dough thing. advice is appreciated! thanks

Hello and welcome. Yes you should let the dough rise at room temperature before baking. Yeast goes dormant in the freezer and is barely active in the refrigerator; it dies at temperatures about 130°F. So if you go from cold to a hot oven it will go from dormant to dead. It won’t rise.

Thawed dough won’t rise as much as a freshly made dough. Also an enriched dough like challah won’t rise as much to begin with, so don’t be surprised if it bakes up a bit lower than freshly made dough. But definitely give it a couple of hours of room temperature rise time before baking.

Reaction score
Hello and welcome. Yes you should let the dough rise at room temperature before baking. Yeast goes dormant in the freezer and is barely active in the refrigerator; it dies at temperatures about 130°F. So if you go from cold to a hot oven it will go from dormant to dead. It won’t rise.