Tips for Gluten-Free Baking Beginners

Reaction score
Hi I'm sure this has been asked already but I'm fairly new to gluten free baking.

I'm just curious if I can follow a non gluten free recipe and just replace the normal flour with g free flour? Also any recommendations for a g free baking recipe site or youtube channel thats tried and tested? So far all the things I've made haven't been the tastiest except for my one success of banana bread last night lol.

Reaction score
Hi I'm sure this has been asked already but I'm fairly new to gluten free baking.

I'm just curious if I can follow a non gluten free recipe and just replace the normal flour with g free flour? Also any recommendations for a g free baking recipe site or youtube channel thats tried and tested? So far all the things I've made haven't been the tastiest except for my one success of banana bread last night lol.

Unfortunately, no you cannot simply do a cup for cup substitution of gluten-free flour for wheat flour.

Websites for gluten-free that are pretty well established are:

Gluten Free on a Shoestring - She has monetized her website so it’s covered in ads and Difficult to navigate. One of the things you will need to figure out are the different flour blends. Start with this page.

https://glutenfreeonashoestring.com/all-purpose-gluten-free-flour-recipes/

Gluten Free Girl - although she is no longer actively posting she has left her website up. She won a James Beard award for her cookbook, Of the same name. She has written a second cookbook, Gluten Free Girl American Classics Reinvented

The best gluten-free sourdough recipe

http://www.bakingmagique.com/2015/02/seeded-gluten-free-sourdough-bread/

Elizabeth Barbone Serious Eats - Although she’s no longer doing the column for serious eats Her articles are still in the archive

https://www.seriouseats.com/user/profile/elizabeth-barbone