Tips for Vegan Baking: Egg and Butter Substitutes

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I have been baking as a vegan for almost two years and the experience as been fun. Although many of these healthier versions are still loaded with carbs, I tend to bake sweets less for that reason. Share your experiences as a vegan baker if you will. I would love to learn new ways to replace eggs and butter, also alternative sweeteners. What works for you? What doesn't work for you?

Reaction score
Let me first say that I am not a vegan baker, but I would like to learn how. I buy vegan baked treats at the farmer's market and have fallen in love with them. I am trying to approach my diet from a more organic and local foods standpoint. I've been looking online at vegan recipes. There aren't many desserts that are actually "good" for us, but if we are going to eat them, it doesn't hurt to know how to do it in the best way possible.

Reaction score
Let me first say that I am not a vegan baker, but I would like to learn how. I buy vegan baked treats at the farmer's market and have fallen in love with them. I am trying to approach my diet from a more organic and local foods standpoint. I've been looking online at vegan recipes. There aren't many desserts that are actually "good" for us, but if we are going to eat them, it doesn't hurt to know how to do it in the best way possible.

I am learning new ways to bake on a vegan diet everyday. There are lots of ways to do it. I found out that replacing eggs, butter, and refined sugar was very easy. I use coconut sugar, or agave, Earth Balance, and applesauce or flaxseed to replace eggs.

Reaction score