Kneading vs No-Kneading: Effects on Bread Texture and Baking Time

Reaction score
I have been making homemade bread for a couple of years. Up till now I have always followed the recipes for "no-knead" bread. I get a loaf that is not bad at all albeit sometimes coming out a bit dense. The mix I end up with is never a solid ball of dough but a slightly thinner mix which pours quite well into my loaf tin. The resulting 50 minute bake produces a hard crust with a softish centre.

My question is this:- what would the results be if, instead of following the no-knead method, I added very slightly more flour to the mix to get a thicker dough and then I actually kneaded it for a few minutes? Would it rise any higher meaning that I don't have to bake it for the approx 50 minutes that I do at the moment ?? As I said, the crust usually comes out quite hard maybe because I have to bake until the middle is cooked completely.

Any advice appreciated..

Reaction score
I think that you should knead regularly when you are making any baking product. Moreover, the kneading process is of two types, one is by hand and another is by machine. But if you are keen to increase your baking skill, then you should knead by your hand as it will increase your baking skills and experience as well. If you knead by machine, then you will be able to save your time and labour but you will never increase your baking skills. Also, you could do experiments with recipes by machine within a short period of time also. It is true that kneading for baking products will make good baking products without any technical problems as well as it will increase your concentration about making the new baking products also.

Reaction score
No-knead is a popular culture myth. Bread needs gluten development. This is achieved through mechanical action, to wit: kneading.

Knead the bread dough. I prefer the slap-fold, aka "French fold" technique.

Reaction score