Is a Toaster Oven Worth Investing In?

Reaction score
Are toaster ovens beneficial? Do they work as good as commercials and advertisements make them out to be? I'm thinking about getting one because my two older kids want to start baking more. I don't trust our stove, let alone our oven. It's been acting up and that's the last thing I want to worry about when my daughter puts in a tray of cookies.

Reaction score
If you get one of the larger countertop ovens that goes up to 450 degrees, you can bake almost anything in it ,and it doesn't overheat the whole house.
I have an Oster countertop oven and I can roast a chicken in it or bake a cake. Don't get one of those little 2 slice toaster ovens that cost $20, get one of the more heavy duty ones that are $60 to $80 and can fit a medium sized pizza.

Reaction score
I am new to toaster ovens but it was a great investment. I was shocked by how much you can do in them now, in addition to making frozen pizzas and other frozen food you can also make grilled cheese in some of them. I think the best thing is that since they are small and compact the clean up is so easy and convenient for people on the run.

Reaction score
Some models are good for broiling and toasting because the heat mechanism is on top instead of below. It may be good to look into those that are ideal for baking dense or thick items like brownies. Otherwise, some items will need flipping for even cooking.:cool:

Reaction score
At one point, I owned a toaster oven and was not impressed with it, but it was a cheap model. If you are going to invest in one, get a higher end model or you will not be able to do much with it.

Reaction score