Transporting small but tall cake to client

Reaction score
Hello! I am brand new to baking cakes by commission, and will be making a 6" round, 3-layer seminaked cake for a client in a couple of weeks. With the fresh flower topping, it will be around 9" tall. Does anyone have any advice on the best way for me to box it in a somewhat professional-looking manner?

Reaction score
Hello! I am brand new to baking cakes by commission, and will be making a 6" round, 3-layer seminaked cake for a client in a couple of weeks. With the fresh flower topping, it will be around 9" tall. Does anyone have any advice on the best way for me to box it in a somewhat professional-looking manner?

Welcome to the forum. Oh dear, if I read this correctly you are creating a 6’ x 9” single tier cake using 3 cake layers. Even if the flowers make up 2" or so of the total height, that still too tall for a single tier. A single tier that narrow is at great risk of toppling over. A barrel cake is actually an optical illusion. It is two shorter tiers stacked to look like a single tier.

You have the added problem of loss of stability with a naked cake. Buttercream and fondant provide stability to hold the layers together. When the buttercream and fondant is eliminated in a naked cake, you lose all that stability. So the cake layers are at risk of shifting.

To be frank, boxing it is not your issue; your issue is getting the cake there with the layers shifting and/or the cake toppling over. Then there's the challenge of slicing a single tier that tall and narrow.

Reaction score
Thank you for your quick reply. OK, I am definitely going to do a test run for this cake – thank you so much for calling these issues to my attention! If it isn’t stable, I might try using a dowel. In the case that it does work, do you or does anyone else have tips on transportation?

Reaction score