Trouble with Chocolate Topping: Need Help

Reaction score
hi all

newbie here... i followed a recipe for millionaire shortbread... so all is good except chocolate is tricky... i use Lidl choc bars ... i mixed white dark and milk broke them up in a bowl... had some water on the boil and had the glass bowl not in the water just positioned over the pan.... melted the chocolate and let cool a minute then poured over my layers...
i let this cool then finished off in the fridge.

when i come to cut it up into pieces the chocolate is rock solid an difficult to cut easily through...

any help would be welcome

thanks

george

Reaction score
Welcome George. Unfortunately there’s not much you can do with hardened chocolate.

You can try heating up the entire piece to just barely melt the chocolate. Let it firm up on the countertop for very short period of time. Then slice all the bars while the chocolate is still slightly soft. But when the chocolate cools completely and recrystallizes it’s going to be hard. So depending on how thick the layer of chocolate, it could be very difficult to bite through.

Also, since the chocolates were melted, it is taken out of temper. So the untempered chocolate may develop a white cast. The white cast isn’t a sign of bad or damaged chocolate. It’s just a sign that the chocolate is out of temper. It’s perfectly safe to eat.

Reaction score
Welcome George. Unfortunately there’s not much you can do with hardened chocolate.

You can try heating up the entire piece to just barely melt the chocolate. Let it firm up on the countertop for very short period of time. Then slice all the bars while the chocolate is still slightly soft. But when the chocolate cools completely and recrystallizes it’s going to be hard. So depending on how thick the layer of chocolate, it could be very difficult to bite through.