Using a banneton

Reaction score
I know this seems a stupid question but a remedy would help me greatly.
I'm new to bread baking so please indulge me!
I like using a 1kg round banneton to proof my bread but have great difficulty transferring the risen dough onto the greaseproof papered baking tray prior to placing it in the oven.
I thoroughly flour the banneton prior to placing the unrisen dough in it but, whilst the risen dough doesn't stick to the banneton, I invariably end up with cracks in the dough as I tip it upside down onto the baking tray.
There must be a way of doing this transfer properly or bannetons would not be in common use.
Any advice of a crack preventative technique would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!

Reaction score
I know this seems a stupid question but a remedy would help me greatly.
I'm new to bread baking so please indulge me!
I like using a 1kg round banneton to proof my bread but have great difficulty transferring the risen dough onto the greaseproof papered baking tray prior to placing it in the oven.
I thoroughly flour the banneton prior to placing the unrisen dough in it but, whilst the risen dough doesn't stick to the banneton, I invariably end up with cracks in the dough as I tip it upside down onto the baking tray.
There must be a way of doing this transfer properly or bannetons would not be in common use.
Any advice of a crack preventative technique would be greatly appreciated.
Thank you!
Any of these or a combination of...

Most likely not the technique of turning out the dough, but a weak/poorly shaped dough results in tears

- failed to develop enough gluten in dough during mixing

- did not shape properly (not enough tension in shaped dough)

- too much hydration in formula

- over-proofed dough

- used wrong flour; winter vs spring wheat; hard vs soft wheat.

- soft water (mineral content too low)

- damaged gluten network
- bench rest too long​
- seeds, nuts, add-ins damage gluten during kneading / shaping​