Measuring Flour Without Scales: A Beginner's Guide

Reaction score
Hi guys, newbie here. I was really really really hoping you could help me. I am trying to get back into baking and cooking. I don't own scales unfortunately and due to Covid money is tight so would not purchase another. Please please please can anyone tell me how much a tablespoon of flour weighs, either level or heaping.

Please help, It would mean a ton. IBS has completely taken the joy out of baking and eating!

Thank you for your help and time.

Reaction score
Normally we do not use a Tablespoon to measure flour because it takes 16 tablespoons to make a cup. Scooping so many spoons of granulated powder skews the weight as air displaces some of the granules as it is scooped. With each spoonful, the weight becomes more and more skewed.

If you do not have a food scale, and volume measurement is your only method, it is best to use a measuring cup. It is important the proper measuring cups are used since there is a difference between liquid and dry measuring cups.

There is no way to accurately control the amount of flour placed in the cup. A “cup” of flour can weigh 120g to 155g, or more depending on how you fill the cup. And no two measuring cups are the same. So how the measuring cup is filled is also important.

The other problem is recipe developers use different “standards” for the weight of a cup of flour. They range from 120g per cup to 145g per cup. So you must know what weight “standard” the recipe developer used, then use the correct method to fill the cup of flour to get the weight as close as possible to the per cup weight.

Recipes from the following sources generally use 1 cup = 120 grams/4.25 oz. Use the Spoon and Level Method

• King Arthur Flour

• Sally's Baking Addiction

• Handle the Heat

Recipes for the following sources generally use 1 cup = 142 grams/5 0z. Use the Dip and Sweep Method

• America’s Test Kitchen

• Cook's Country

• Chris Kimball - Milk Street