What's the most difficult cake you have made

Reaction score
It's no secret that I am still a green baker and learning as I go along. I fear bread making and think I should 'perfect the cake before I try to decorate' which is my baking slogan of sorts. For the sake of it I went to Pinterest to look for difficult bakes to bake and just by looking at some of them I knew I have a long way to go. For me, the most difficult I have ever made was probably a carrot cake which came out all wrong.

This one right here looks crazy difficult. http://www.winnish.net/2013/08/2362/ Special Honey Cake Layered with Dulce de Leche.

What's the most difficult cake you have made? What cake do you want to make in the future that you think might be challenging?

Reaction score
Well, it all depends on what you mean by "difficult". A difficult recipe? A difficult cake to bake? A difficult cake to decorate?

One of my most difficult cakes was "back when"......this woman wanted a half sheet cake for a baby shower. She wanted Noahs Arc on top of the entire cake, done in colored gels. That cake was a B***H to do!!!! It took me 2 hours JUST to decorate in gel, and about 1,000 hand cramps!

Reaction score
Oh! I remember one!!!!

This was back in High School, in Home Economics class.

I wanted to show off a little bit, so I found some kind of really hard to make German dessert cake.

I don't remember what the name of the cake was, but it was something like this:

Bake 4-6 layers of a meringue cake, and cut out a hollow center in all of the center layers.
The top layer and bottom layer are to be solid.

Once you have "built" the meringue cake (minus the top layer), you fill the center with some sort of fruit mousse/pudding. Then you put on the top layer and decorate the top with whipped cream and fruit pieces.

It was a b**ch to make, and it did NOT want to stay upright, but I finally got it together, and it stayed.
It turned out pretty good.

Reaction score