Wild Yeast Sour Dough Starter

Reaction score
I am new to Baking Forums. I love to bake and eat good bread. About 4 day ago I read an article about making wild yeast sour dough started. It takes 5 days before you can use it. I am on day 4 of feeding the starter and will be making my first loaf on tomorrow.
Has anyone here ever used a wild yeast starter and does the taste vary or uncontrolled because it's wild yeast and not a starter that I could buy from King Arthur Flour? Does anyone know what the difference is between wild yeast starter and a sour dough starter that you could bet from a baking company? Can you make a more controlled tasting starter if you used regular store bought yeast?

Sorry for all the questions on my first post.
Steve

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Steve, great to have you here! :)

I've not made a sourdough started myself, but I have friends who have done it. It seemed to be quite a long process between making the starter and perfecting the end result. The first loaves he got were quite dense, but they got better over time. Here in the UK I haven't seen branded sourdough starters to buy, if you want to make sourdough you have to make your own.

I looked up the ingredients for the King Arthur starter and it is just their enriched flour and water. If it were me I'd just make it myself ;)

Reaction score
I agree with you Becky. I tasted a very little bit on day 4 as they suggested in the instructions and boy was it sour and musty. Exactly as it should be. I plan to make a loaf of bread for Father's Day. Then I will start to read about bagel making and try my hand in that.

Reaction score
Hello and welcome.
The simple answer to your questions is there is no difference between a starter you would purchase and a starter you cultivate using your own flour. Here’s why.