Would you ever bake professionally?

Reaction score
I really enjoy baking because it gives me a release from the stress that life brings my way from time to time, but I could never do it for a living. I think a lot of joy would be taken out of it if I had to do it to earn an income. Would any of you ever consider baking professionally?

Reaction score
I tried finding ways to get my own bakery for many years when I was younger. Nobody would help me out, and nobody would give me suggestions. So, after about 15 years, I just gave up.

Every place I went to for a small business loan told me that I HAD to have at least $100,000 in the bank before I could get a small business loan. I'm like WTF????? If I had THAT kind of money, I wouldn't need a LOAN!!!!!

I live in Texas, and you can have a home food business from your house, if you get certified by the local Health Department for doing a food business from a home, but I live in an apartment, which is illegal to run a business of any kind out of an apartment. So, I just gave up on the idea.

Reaction score
I am baking simple and easy cakes and pastries just for my family and friends but I have no intention to bake professionally. It always makes me feel happy whenever I saw them satisfied while they are eating my baking goodies and it is already an accomplishment for me.

Reaction score
I doubt I would even want to. I think it would be bad for my health. I am a 'picker' and I can't imagine myself being around so many goodies and not wanting to take a bite of just about everything. I think I could easily be a professional cook, but the baking....no.

ChesterV, what you are saying sounds crazy. What kind of bankers do you have over there? Like you said if you had that kind of money you wouldn't need the bank unless it's for double the amount.

Reaction score