Bakers Secrets

Reaction score
Hello!

I used to be a professional baker, although not Chef status.

Here are some bakers secrets I've learned through the years:

240_F_68272941_RxnsIm3EgCbifoDHEe0ZUrTW1d95iDO0.jpg

*When using butters, lards, or shortenings, it is better to have them at room temperature before using.

*If you are working with cake, freeze it first. Working with frozen cake makes things SO much easier.

*Cake trimmings can be dried out in the oven on a warm heat, and hand ground into a dusting powder, or crushed up by hand for trim decorating. Bad shaped cookies, cookies that are over done can be crushed up for the same....or can be used for sprinkles on cupcakes.

*If your buttercream frosting is too "loose", then instead of adding more and more sugar to thicken it, use a bit of meringue powder to stiffen it up, or just place the bowl of frosting in the fridge for a bit to cool down. The oil based product you use to make the buttercream can get heated up while working with it, or just sitting out for a long time. Cooling it off will help stiffen up the oil based product in the frosting.

*To "kill" a bit of the super sweet taste in buttercream frosting, use a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to the mix (about one tablespoon per half gallon of frosting).

*Adding a touch of chili powder to your chocolate or fudge will help bring out the chocolate flavor.

*No rolling pin? Place a sheet of plastic wrap over a cookie sheet, place your dough on top, place another sheet of plastic wrap over that, then place a stiff cookie sheet over that and start pressing down until you get to your desired thickness.

*No rolling pin? Take the label off of a canned item, such as soup, wash the can thoroughly, and use it as a rolling pin.