Muffins didn't bake as intended...

Reaction score
I got a Bob's Red Mill gluten-free bake mix, followed the recipe to the letter (added eggs etc), but the end result was - the muffins developed a crispy crust, which isn't right, and the inside was not very cooked (though it wasn't raw either). The reason I felt the inside wasn't very cooked is because it wasn't very "cakey", didn't have that sponginess that I had expected...

I am new to baking, so no idea what happened here...any comments would be appreciated

Reaction score
Have you ever used this before?

I've never used gluten-free anything, but I have heard that it doesn't "act" like normal batters/doughs do. I do not expect that this mix is going to be cakey, as the active "cakey" ingredients have been removed.

Muffins DO get a crust on them, as the muffin tops dry out a bit while baking. But after sitting for a while after cooling, the tops will usually get soft again and not stay crunchy or crusty. If you want soft tops, just put your baked muffins in a plastic container with the lid on it for a few hours after they have cooled off. The tops should revert back to soft.

Personally, I like a crunchy top and always try to have a muffin as soon as they have cooled enough.
Mmmmmm, crunchy muffin tops. LOL

Reaction score
The crunchy top didnt go away after sitting for hours...also, the inside is still too soft and "mushy". The inside hasn't taken "shape" and "form" as I would have expected.

One thing came to my mind - I put the baking tray on the level closest to the bottom heating filament in the oven. So I am wondering if that's why the outside became such a crust and the inside didn't cook or solidify properly. Perhaps it happened because of heat source being too close to the muffins?

Reaction score
Gluten free baking takes a lot of getting used to unfortunately :( Often it's the recipe that's to blame, so I'd maybe try a different one. What kind of muffins are you making?

Reaction score