Sourdough: Not getting open crumb.

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Im new to this forum, I've been a baker for about 20 years now and made plenty of sourdough before, however recently I purchased a bakery and I am trying to bring in my own sourdough, with a bit of success.

My sourdough starter is perfect and recipe seems sound with 80% water. However every time I bake them they have a relatively closed crumb. I have tried over proofing, under proofing, adding 1-2% yeast, slow proofing, using the proofer, reducing the starter, different oven temps, different flour. I just have no idea whats going on. The only thing I can think of is the starter is stuffing it up, but its just a 50/50 flour/water recipe, and the reason I think it could be the starter is because my Ciabatta turns out perfect. I have tried a couple different starters too.

If anyone has some ideas I could try I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Reaction score
Hey guys,

Im new to this forum, I've been a baker for about 20 years now and made plenty of sourdough before, however recently I purchased a bakery and I am trying to bring in my own sourdough, with a bit of success.

My sourdough starter is perfect and recipe seems sound with 80% water. However every time I bake them they have a relatively closed crumb. I have tried over proofing, under proofing, adding 1-2% yeast, slow proofing, using the proofer, reducing the starter, different oven temps, different flour. I just have no idea whats going on. The only thing I can think of is the starter is stuffing it up, but its just a 50/50 flour/water recipe, and the reason I think it could be the starter is because my Ciabatta turns out perfect. I have tried a couple different starters too.

If anyone has some ideas I could try I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Hello and welcome to the forum.