Ventless Convection ovens

Reaction score
i am thinking of opening a bakery and going with ventless hoods or equipment that doesnt need a hood would open a lot of options for locations verses needing a location that already has a ducted hood system or the expense of adding that system. Does anyone have any advice or insight? I have started looking at ventless hoods but they dont seem condusive to tall convection ovens. I have also heard that some electric convection ovens don't need venting. Thanks

Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Sarah :)

I'm just a home baker, but hopefully someone here might have some experience with professional kitchens.

Reaction score
Sarah, I work with commercial kitchen equipment. In my experience I have found that all convection ovens need to be under a hood. Since you can produce grease laden vapors by "frying" bacon in it, it needs a hood. But really the best thing to do is to check with your municipality to find out what they will allow.

Reaction score
I don’t own a bakery, but Ive spent a lot of time in commercial kitchens both large and small. Both climate controlled and not. Here’s what I’ve learned.

First you need to check with your local fire marshal, country building department, and health department to determine the type of ovens, venting, and fire suppression systems approved and required for commercial kitchens in your city. Just because a company manufactures a piece of equipment doesn’t mean your local fire marshal and the county building department approved them for installation in commercial kitchens.

Beyond fire, health, and building code requirements, you need to consider temperature and humidity requirements for your product line. There’s a reason why bakeries have temperature and humidity control systems.

A ventless hood will recirculate the kitchen air right back into the kitchen. And that will simply increase the temperature and humidity in the kitchen.