Ceramic pie plate stuck to baking steel while still at hottest temperature

Reaction score
I just purchase a baking steel and made an apple pie and nearing 45 minute of baking
I opened the oven to check on the pie and it would not budge. The juice was bubbling at
the base of the pan and the 30 pound steel .. I pushed the plate and the whole steel moved
along with the plate. There was no way I can turn the pie. I poked the pie to see if the apples
were of a tender consistency. It may be beyond tender, so I turn the oven off. It is way too
heavy and too hot to remove the plate with the pie stuck to it, so I will just let it cool with the
pie on it. Yes, I should have set the pie on a cooking sheet. It's my first time, so I forgot about
it. I spent many hours on that pie-- over ten hours. I'm wondering if it will be even worse when
everything is cooled and solidifies. I am thinking of opening the oven door, as the cooking steel
will take a quite a long time to cool and overcook the pie!

I was warned some of the dangers of a heavy baking steel but a pan stuck to it was not one of them.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Reaction score
I think I managed to save it. I mustered all my strength with gloves doubled up with mitts
and removed the whole thing. The whole time I was thinking of David Carradine moving
the hot cauldron with his forearms in the old series Kung Fu.
The edges are a little burnt. The baking steel cooked the pie very fast!
Lesson learned.

Attachments

• December-pie.jpg
    December-pie.jpg
    175.8 KB · Views: 34
Reaction score
Your pic makes me crave a piece of apple pie