Baking for a restaurant

Reaction score
I am a professional baker with a small business.
Recently a friend also with a business asked me if I can bake for him, doing prep work i.e.
Mixing, scooping, storing cookies, Mixing cakes and freezing, Baking Pie shell, Mixing frostings ect...

I am wondering what would be the best approach to charging him for the work I provide.
hourly or by piece..

Is wholesale an option? Should I use my ingredients and his recipe and charge for a normal whole sale account?

Thoughts,
Thanks.

Reaction score
I am a professional baker with a small business.
Recently a friend also with a business asked me if I can bake for him, doing prep work i.e.
Mixing, scooping, storing cookies, Mixing cakes and freezing, Baking Pie shell, Mixing frostings ect...

I am wondering what would be the best approach to charging him for the work I provide.
hourly or by piece..

Is wholesale an option? Should I use my ingredients and his recipe and charge for a normal whole sale account?

Thoughts,
Thanks.

Since you already run a small business it makes the most sense to provide product to his specification. You’re already set up for production, so it’s just a matter of adding additional product or increasing production of existing product lines.

Having worked in human resources I can tell you going to work in your friend’s restaurant will probably be more hassle than it’s worth. It’s not going to be a simple little deal between the two of you because how you are classified is ultimately determined by the government. The IRS will determine if you are anemployee or an independent contractor.

The status is very important because it determines how your friend pays you, and how state and federal employment taxes are collected.

If you are an employee, then your friend is required by law to deduct state and federal employment taxes from your wages and then pay you the balance.