converting banana bread recipe to strawberry bread recipe

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm looking for a great strawberry bread recipe. The best strawberry bread I've had is from a vendor at my local farmer's market, and he told me they started with a banana bread recipe and converted it (he wouldn't share the recipe, sadly). I have a great banana bread recipe, so I was thinking about trying to convert it if possible. I'm looking for a bread where the berries are blended into the bread instead of in chunks. Here's my banana bread recipe:

3 ripe bananas, mashed
1 stick oleo, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder

Combine all ingredients and bake at 350 degrees until done. You may add nuts.

I know I need to add cinnamon. I'm assuming that the strawberries will be wetter than the bananas? If so, do I add more flour to balance it out? And do I need to add more sugar? I really don't know what to do. I'm not good at modifying recipes. The bread was smooth and had a great strawberry flavor.

Thanks for any help y'all can give me!

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm looking for a great strawberry bread recipe. The best strawberry bread I've had is from a vendor at my local farmer's market, and he told me they started with a banana bread recipe and converted it (he wouldn't share the recipe, sadly). I have a great banana bread recipe, so I was thinking about trying to convert it if possible. I'm looking for a bread where the berries are blended into the bread instead of in chunks. Here's my banana bread recipe:

3 ripe bananas, mashed
1 stick oleo, room temperature
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder

Combine all ingredients and bake at 350 degrees until done. You may add nuts.