Sourdough Starter Trouble

Reaction score
Hello! I am very new to bread baking and this is my first time posting in here. I decided to try my hand at sourdough, but I'm having trouble with the starter. I'm doing the basic recipe of equal parts flour and water (4 ounces by weight of each). I'm using red mill whole wheat flour and tap water.

On my first attempt, I fed once per day and it had doubled on the third day. But after another day it stopped rising. The same thing happened with my second attempt, but this time it only doubled once and won't rise anymore. With this one, I was following instructions that said to feed it when it doubled. It didn't double yesterday, but I went ahead and fed it with King Arthur all purpose flour (as per the instructions). I've had some bubbling, but again no rising. I'm going to feed it again today with the all purpose, but im losing hope that this one will rise.

Does anyone have tips or a recipe that works really well for them? I really want to make my own starter instead of getting one from someone else. Please help!

Reaction score
Hello! I am very new to bread baking and this is my first time posting in here. I decided to try my hand at sourdough, but I'm having trouble with the starter. I'm doing the basic recipe of equal parts flour and water (4 ounces by weight of each). I'm using red mill whole wheat flour and tap water.

On my first attempt, I fed once per day and it had doubled on the third day. But after another day it stopped rising. The same thing happened with my second attempt, but this time it only doubled once and won't rise anymore. With this one, I was following instructions that said to feed it when it doubled. It didn't double yesterday, but I went ahead and fed it with King Arthur all purpose flour (as per the instructions). I've had some bubbling, but again no rising. I'm going to feed it again today with the all purpose, but im losing hope that this one will rise.