Genoise sponge not chocolatey enough - should I add more cocoa or sub with chiffon cake?

Reaction score
Hi, I'm planning to make a torta setteveli for my brother's birthday - or my take of it, based on this recipe: https://thegreatbritishbakeoff.co.uk/recipes/all/prue-leith-torta-setteveli/

I'm a confident baker but haven't really needed to make a genoise sponge before. So after much research I used the classic recipe and made a couple of mini chocolate ones as a trial (one with, one without melted butter). Technically, I'm happy with how they turned out- they rose well and had a very light airy texture just as they should.

Taste wise, I'm not so happy. I know they're much drier compared to a standard sponge (although the addition of butter made a little difference) but my problem was that they were too 'flavourless'. The primary flavour that I'm getting is sugar and not chocolate. I used 10g of cocoa and 20g of plain flour per egg and the cocoa was a very good quality one so I know this isn't the problem. Does anyone know of a solution? Can I increase the cocoa? Can I even use only cocoa and no flour as the flour is not being used as a raising agent here? What would happen if I added some melted chocolate to the batter?

To add to the problem, genoise is a dry sponge and there is no way, it seems, that I can get away without using some sort of liquid to add moisture but from what I can see the only options seem to be either alcohol (children will be eating the cake so not really an option) or simple syrup but then this will just exacerbate the problem of the cake tasting too sugary.