Have you ever used Pineapples in place of Oil?

Reaction score
zucchini-bread11.jpg

Hello everyone, Tim here, I have a question. Has anyone ever used pineapples in place of oil for baking? My grandmother used to use it in her zucchini bread. It was really good oddly enough. I would have never known you could do that had it not been for her. Can anyone really tell me why it works? Never question Granny! lol. :)

Reaction score
Hi Tim, and welcome to the forum. I just happened to be here and decided to respond and say right off "I've never tried it". I am still a new to baker especially when it comes to cakes from scratch. That said, I decided to look it up and sure enough granny was probably well ahead of her time:).
I found pineapple right there with a list of other substitutes. I am happy to find anything to replace the oil. It's not my favourite thing.

Reaction score
I've never even thought to go as far as pineapple in baking, though it sounds lovely just like zucchini and other breads. It also looks like it could be used a wide range of dishes, not even limited to baking, deserts, or general mixed fruit cups..

Reaction score
I agree there are too many people out there who have a "set" mind on cooking one thing, one way, all the time. Think outside the box sometimes and try new things. It is always fun to take a classic and put your spin on it.

Reaction score
Pineapples! Huh. I've used banana and apple sauce, but somehow I never thought of pineapple as a substitute for oil -- it just does not seem or feel oily, I guess. Would be happy to try it, though. I guess canned works too?

Reaction score
To be honest this is the first time I hear about it :p I had no idea you could actually replace oil with pineapples, Tim. Totally new thing for me, but I had hear you can replace oil with apple sauce ;)

Reaction score