KitchenAid Pro 600 struggling to mix bread

Reaction score
A bit of background: I'm new to using a mixer (about 9 months) but hardly new to baking bread (well over 30 years). Last year I caved in and decided to get a mixer, but I thought I'd go cheap to at least be sure it was useful (it was). I bought a "Deco Chef" for all of around $65. It worked very well but lasted only about six months. Worked one moment and then suddenly stopped working. But what's important to this question is that it never sounded or looked like it was struggling to mix bread dough.

So I decided to buy KitchenAid, albeit refurbished. It was bought from KA off their ebay channel, so there was nothing sketchy there.

The first batch went fine. But the second and third did not. During the second batch, the mixer would actually briefly stop during the mixing. i thought maybe I forgot what I was doing and didn't add enough water. So the next batch I paid very close attention to what I was doing. And even added maybe an extra 1/4 cup or so of water. It struggled again, although didn't do any of the brief stopping.

KitchenAid replaced it without question and just now I've mixed a batch with it. And it is struggling again!!

The recipe is the same recipe I was using with the cheaper mixer and with both KA mixers. It is from King Arthur's new baking book, the basic bread. The only thing I've done was up the amounts 4/3. So I'm using about 7 1/2 cups flour to 2 1/2 to 3 cups water.

I have videos but it seems that I am not allowed to post them. I would love some other perspectives about this before I call KitchenAid again.

Reaction score
Wrong type of mixer for the task.

When considering a mixer, you have to select based on the type of doughs you will mix most often.

There are two types of mixers: planetary and spiral. They are completely different style of mixers, and they’re designed for completely different types of doughs.