New Rolling Pin = Pecan Pie

J13

Reaction score
I debated posting this in “Baking Banter,” “Equipment” or “Pastries” but “Desserts” won out. I’ve been lusting after this (pricy) rolling pin for almost three months and finally broke down and bought it. My husband took one look at it and dubbed it “Excalibur!’ :D It’s hand made by some wood carver in Pasadena. The wood is “Wenge” sometimes called African Rosewood; in its natural state it’s more brown, but when given an oil finish it turns, well, this dark. And yes, it’s that long and weighty.

upload_2019-8-16_20-53-13.jpeg

Of course, once I got it home, I had to try it out, right? Take it for a spin....this calls for pie crust and that means...

NorCal’s pie crust recipe! I’d been wanting to try that out, too. Good thing my new rolling pin gave me an excuse to make it.

Report on the rolling pin: Sometimes you buy something that looks awesome but performs badly. I can happily say that this rolling pin isn’t just lovely to look at, but lovely to use. It did a fantastic job creating a nice thin crust, and it was almost like teflon—I used plenty of flour, but that hasn’t kept pie dough from sticking to my rolling pin before. This time, barely any stick. And afterwards...all the flour and such washed off easy, leaving the pin, once again, satiny smooth. I loved the weight and feel of it.