Violet cake ideas

Reaction score
It's Ian's birthday coming up, and he has developed a real love of chocolate violets (that is, dark chocolate with a violet flavoured cream filling). As a result he has requested a violet flavoured birthday cake, so my first thought was that I could make a regular chocolate cake and just add some violet flavouring.

I've never used violet flavouring before though, so I was just wondering whether anyone here had any advice for using it? It can be quite a strong flavour so I don't want to over-do it. Also if anyone has any other ideas for a cake then please feel free to let me know!

:)

Reaction score
I’ve only used violet flavoring once. I found it similar to lavender in that a small amount goes a long way. Too much and it goes from a lovely hint of floral to seemingly eating a bar of soap. A 1/4 teaspoon to 1/2 teaspoon maximum is what I’d suggest.

Florals are best balanced with other flavors, so your instinct to add it to a chocolate cake is a good idea.

Violet and chocolate also pair well with berry flavors. A chocolate Creme de Cassis and violet cake with a berry frosting would make a nice flavor profile.

Reaction score
I always find this strange, as I've never heard of people using floral extracts before I saw The Great British Baking Show.

I wouldn't even begin to guess at how floral extracts taste. I've never known anyone to use them, much less ever heard of such a thing before I started watching that show.

Reaction score
You make some good points @Norcalbaker59, I'll be very cautious when I add the flavouring. I'll perhaps add a slight hint of flavour to the cake, but make the frosting more obviously violet. My thinking is that I can taste as I go with frosting, whereas cake batter would be guess work.