Date Cake: dense at the bottom only

Reaction score
Hi, I baked a date cake following this recipe - http://foodfellas4you.com/eggless-sugarless-date-walnut-cake/

I've done it 3-4 times so far . There has always been a thin layer (at the bottom) that seems dense. It still tastes great and I was wondering what might be causing this bottom layer to not rise (I am a newbie and I believe that's the term). Picture here - https://photos.app.goo.gl/Btvh822tfYZy2bmZA

Based on the reading here, it seems like it could be expired baking soda / powder. I checked the baking powder and it is fresh (I couldn't validate the soda as I had transferred it to a glass bottle). Next time I'll get fresh baking soda and try but I wanted to check if there could be any other causes.

I don't cook or bake much so I may be doing some other things wrong here. Trying to start baking because the results of this cake have been mostly encouraging (the family likes it!).

Thanks in advance :)

Reaction score
The photo of the linked recipe seems a bit raw or undercooked on the bottom also. The recipe is lacking leavening, which partially stems from not using eggs. This is a vegan recipe, correct? Vegan baking will never be the same as the real deal.

Try using less batter in the same size pan. Similarly, divide the batter equally into to slightly smaller pans. Your photo shows a cake that is not fully cooked.

You need to get heat into the entire batter. Try adding thermal mass to your oven such as with a baking stone or heavy sautoir or similar.

Reaction score