Have you ever made miniature cakes?

Reaction score
I keep coming across these little cakes in magazines, and online. They look so cute, and there are so many different versions from sponge cakes to fruit cakes, and some are covered in fondant and decorated so beautifully. I've never tried doing any - have you?

Here's some pictures:

Attachments

• minicakes1.jpg
    minicakes1.jpg
    5.9 KB · Views: 390
  • minicakes2.jpg
    minicakes2.jpg
    9.3 KB · Views: 367
  • minicakes3.jpg
    minicakes3.jpg
    11 KB · Views: 348
  • minicakes4.jpg
    minicakes4.jpg
    5.4 KB · Views: 399
  • minicakes5.jpg
    minicakes5.jpg
    12.2 KB · Views: 365
Reaction score
I have made them before, but they are hard to decorate because they are so tiny. I will make a big cake in the oven and then just cut out the little cake forms with a cookie cutter or whatever I have on hand to cut them with.

Reaction score
I am a newbie and something like that I am not in a rush to make. I had some friends who made some for a sale we had some time back. I will never forget those miniature cakes. They were so pretty to look at but the taste fell way short. It's then I thought to myself I don't want to make the mistake of trying to decorate and do fancy things and compromise on taste.

Reaction score
Oh my! These look beautiful! I've made cupcakes and minicupcakes, but I never even heard of this nor have I seen pictures. I would not be able to decorate this...

But Winterybella it is probably just a matter of recipe; I don't know why a minicake would be less tasty than a complete cake if it's well made!

Reaction score
If they are made right, they should taste like a regular cake would, just in a much smaller form. I do not recommend making petite fours as the icing is very waxy in my opinion and they just taste awful. Perhaps if you got them from a fancy bakery, but not the homemade kind.

Reaction score