How can you make sure your baked goods are evenly cooked?

Reaction score
My sister and I baked a banana bread loaf last night (perhaps a bit too long), but then we noticed deep at the core there was still a soft undercooked part. The edges were quite done though. Does anyone have any good tips about evenly cooking bread and other items?

Reaction score
I'm not an expert here....banana bread has been a challenge for me as well. A couple of things I know I've done wrong though are ....a dark bread pan (I recently did two loaves...one using an old metal pan that had darkened with age, and the other using a new, disposable aluminum pan. The latter came out lovely, the former was definitely over cooked on the outside)

Making sure you're giving whatever is in the oven even cooking is important too. Don't open the door and look in too often, since that releases heat and your oven has to then work to come back to your baking temperature.

Looking forward to hearing from some folks who know more about this than I do!

Reaction score
It's my understanding that many ovens don't have the correct temperature, especially those that have been in use many years. Try getting an oven thermometer and making sure your food is baking at the temperature called for in the recipe.

Reaction score
I like the added oven thermometer suggestion. It's easy to take it for granted that the temperature will match the dial setting you set. This just might be why some of my baking efforts turn out less than expected. It seems so obvious, now. :p

Reaction score
I think one of the first things is to just get to know your oven. We have a gas stove and I know it cooks things quicker than what most recipes call for. So I would test things out and see how fast your oven cooks. If its too fast maybe you need to cover your pan, or adjust the temperature. You might even see about placing it on different levels with the racks.

Reaction score