Novice pie baker seeks crispy flaky bottom crust

Reaction score
hello

I am new to making fruit pie would really love my bottom crust to be CRUNCHY AND FLAKY!

Every recipe that I have tried seems to have to short of a baking time as well. For a glass pie pan my mantra has become “the pie will bake for 90 minutes” . But even with that the bottom crust seems to be....floppy.

Is blind baking the only way to achieve this crust I desire? And if so then how do I attach the lattice once the bottom crust is cooked?

J13

Reaction score
Here are five ways to prevent a soggy bottom pie crust: https://www.thekitchn.com/5-ways-to-prevent-soggy-pie-crust-tips-from-the-kitchn-212434

There's also the advice to let your pies bake in the oven for waaay longer than you think. I know you went 90 minutes, but this person says go a full 2 hours: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/underbaked-soggy-pie-crust-fix

And then there is the egg-white coating: https://www.everythingpies.com/prevent-soggy-bottom-pie-crust/

Personally, I'd mix egg white coating with a long bake for a fruit pie....get back to us and tell us how it goes!

Reaction score
Here are five ways to prevent a soggy bottom pie crust: https://www.thekitchn.com/5-ways-to-prevent-soggy-pie-crust-tips-from-the-kitchn-212434

There's also the advice to let your pies bake in the oven for waaay longer than you think. I know you went 90 minutes, but this person says go a full 2 hours: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/underbaked-soggy-pie-crust-fix

And then there is the egg-white coating: https://www.everythingpies.com/prevent-soggy-bottom-pie-crust/

Personally, I'd mix egg white coating with a long bake for a fruit pie....get back to us and tell us how it goes!

Thank you!

I just pulled another Apple pie out of the oven and I’m pretty happy. This was in for 90 minutes total and from the looks of the bottom it may have used another 10-15 minutes but it looks damn good.