Salt

Reaction score
I have a general question. I live at 3500ft. in Idaho which may or may not have any bearing
on the amount of salt to use in cooking. My question is: Other than taste what does salt do for your cooking ??.
I know it is a dumb question, but as a novice I need to learn and I am 81 yrs. young

Reaction score
I'm no expert by any means so the following is just my humble opinion :) I once read "salt brings out flavor". I can't remember where I read it but I always keep it in mind when I'm cooking. I've found that it enhances the flavor that's already there (versus using spices which add their own distinct flavor to the dish). An example I have is with sweet potatoes. Initially, I'd never think to add salt to an item that was meant to be sweet and I didn't use to. So I'd just cook the sweet potatoes, maybe add a bit of butter and call it a day. One day I decided to give salt in the sweet potatoes a try. I found that, when I added that little bit of salt to baked sweet potatoes, it brought out more of its natural flavor and haven't looked back since :D

Something to note, there are different types of salts out there (regular table salt, sea salt, kosher, etc). Ever since my husband (who loves to cook) and I discovered kosher salt, we use it almost exclusively for cooking. However, I don't really bake with it unless the recipe specifically calls out for it.

Salt has also been used as a preservative for hundreds of years (fish, meats), but that's all I really know about it.

Reaction score
John, that's not a stupid question at all. It's actually an excellent question. Ingredients create chemical reactions. The end product whether we are cooking or baking is the result of all of those chemical reactions. Salt plays a critical chemical role both in cooking and baking.