With your baking, are you self taught or did you get training?

Reaction score
I think I would have to say "self taught" as I was able on my own, to read and accurately follow the recipes for my box cakes:).

I was raised by a mother who was always in the kitchen cooking and baking. I have no recollection of her actually sitting me down and teaching me to cook, but I watched, learned and developed a keen interest as I grew. I can't say I developed the same interest in baking. It always looked like so much work.

Anyway, I recently discovered a baking forum where there are apparently lots of great bakers. My formal training has begun here.:)

Reaction score
I think that's great that you're mainly self-taught, I am as well and there are plenty of amazing bakers who can say the same. I never even had anyone to really watch or learn by example until much later on in life, but I just made it a point to start experimenting and jumping right in with it. There's a bit of a learning curve, but there are certainly harder things to teach oneself ;).

Reaction score
I think that's great that you're mainly self-taught, I am as well and there are plenty of amazing bakers who can say the same. I never even had anyone to really watch or learn by example until much later on in life, but I just made it a point to start experimenting and jumping right in with it. There's a bit of a learning curve, but there are certainly harder things to teach oneself ;).

Well at least you are self taught and quite good. I am self taught and still might be struggling. I am the last child to my mother and we all had different skills. I had a sister who was good with baking, another great at cleaning, and I was the one who liked to cook and experiment. When my older sister was alive I would call her anytime I wanted advice on anything with yeast and baking.

We all have different gifts I suppose. Some of us are naturals, while others have to be taught. I am being taught how to become a "natural" here.