Worst Baking Disaster?

Reaction score
Okay, so I'd love to hear everyone horror stories of their worst baking disaster. I remember one of the first times my mom let my sister and her friend make cookies the recipe called for 5 1/4 cups of flour. My sisters friend, thinking herself very smart, said they needed 1 and 1/4 cups flour because she added the fractions. When the cookies were all messed up my mom asked her how much flour she put in. She said 5 one fourth cups. It was pretty funny.

Reaction score
I haven't had one pop into my head about ME yet, but my older sister often tells the story of the time she mistook the salt for the sugar. She said she ended up with these lovely cookies (I can't remember what kind) that tasted disgusting and you couldn't eat them. Imagine a CUP of salt in your cookies! :(

Reaction score
I used to work in a restaurant and one of the pastry chefs there was teaching me how to bake (this is actually when I really started to love baking). I was trying to make bread from scratch and I got all the measurements wrong and I put way too much yeast in so when it started to rise it was massive and messy.

Reaction score
Once I forgot to put yeast in some dinner rolls I was baking and I ended up with hockey pucks. I kept wondering why they weren't rising and then I noticed the unopened package of yeast on the counter under my cookbook.

Reaction score
I once tried to make the Jello Christmas cakes for a huge party. My grandmother had made these for years with a cake mix, boxes of red and green jello and cool whip. She always talked about how simple they were to make and they were fool proof. Gave me a false sense of security because I didn't do a trial run and they were my only dessert for the party. Cakes crumbled and came out a mess....it was a disaster! I had to send a friend to the market for an emergency cookie platter!

Reaction score