Cold Weather Baking

Reaction score
Hello! I am actually a product design student at university in the US and as an assignment I have been tasked to improve the whisking experience for people living/ working in cold weather climates. If there is anyone who lives in Canada, Maine, Alaska, etc... that would be willing to answer a few questions that would be wonderful. I'll write my questions below.

If I am using this forum incorrectly, sincere apologies.

Questions:

What do you use whisks for most often?

How often do you hand whisk egg whites?

What temperature is your work space usually left at while whisking?

Where do you feel the most strain when whisking?

How long does it usually take to get to stiff peaks when whisking?

If you use an electronic device such as a standing mixer to get stiff peaks do you have any complaints or compliments about it?

Reaction score
1. Ambient temperature has nothing to do with making meringue.
Simply heat the egg whites over a water bath, then beat. Problem solved.
In fact, heating egg whites to 140° and above is standard for meringue buttercream. We heat egg whites no matter the ambient temperature.

2. Few Americans hand whisk egg whites. Beating egg whites is usually for intermediate and advanced recipes. Those who bake at that level own a hand mixer or a stand mixer.

Reaction score
1. Ambient temperature has nothing to do with making meringue.
Simply heat the egg whites over a water bath, then beat. Problem solved.
In fact, heating egg whites to 140° and above is standard for meringue buttercream. We heat egg whites no matter the ambient temperature.

2. Few Americans hand whisk egg whites. Beating egg whites is usually for intermediate and advanced recipes. Those who bake at that level own a hand mixer or a stand mixer.

Thank you, that is quite helpful, I will look into the water bath idea.

In that case do you have any idea when temperature would have an effect on the whisking process, regardless of egg whites?