Cookies for toddlers

Reaction score
I plan to bake a couple of cookies for my toddler. There are such wonderful recipes here on the forum which I intend to try out. My plan for my toddler is to prolong his sweet tooth. Both my husband and I have given up sugar in our house and do not have it in our teas and coffee as we strongly feel that kids get too much sugar in their diet. We have to lead by example (this is my husband's idea). Could I reduce the sugar quantity in most of the recipes? Would it make any difference to the end result or do I need to replace the sugar with something else? I would appreciate any suggestions as I am a novice baker.

Reaction score
I have a good idea. Try this recipe: http://weelicious.com/2010/09/23/banana-oatmeal-chocolate-chip-cookies/
My son loves this recipe and sugar is not used in this recipe. You can opt out the chocolate chips if you want.

Those sound like they would not only be very tasty but also a lot healthier then other cookies recipes that might be around. Thanks for the link to these cookies, I think I might be making some of those this weekend while watching my grandkids, they love homemade baked cookies,and I always try to keep making different kinds for them when I can.:)

Reaction score
Yes, I have the same problem. My kids love sugar, as do I. I don't know if I could entirely sweep it out of everyone's diet. I have a sweet tooth myself. I limit my kids intake of "junkfood" though. I know there are many different treats that are made without sugar on Allrecipes.com.

Reaction score
Shortbread is a good cookie if you want a treat, but do not want a lot of sugar. They are super easy to make too with only 4 ingredients.

Reaction score