Need Urgent Help with Doughnut Making

Reaction score
Hello!

This is my first time posting here I’ve just joined.

I have to make some doughnuts for someone to collect (outside a closed front door) by Monday. Unfortunately I’ve had a few issues.

Doughnuts aren’t proving well the second time, and when frying they’re inflating and ending up with huge empty pocked of air inside which just looks and tastes weird.
Also, they’re browning too much on the outside.

I do add extraflour when kneading as I knead by hand and the dough is very sticky.

Finally, the dough is shrinking when I use the cookie cutter!
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks I advance!

Reaction score
Hello!

This is my first time posting here I’ve just joined.

I have to make some doughnuts for someone to collect (outside a closed front door) by Monday. Unfortunately I’ve had a few issues.

Doughnuts aren’t proving well the second time, and when frying they’re inflating and ending up with huge empty pocked of air inside which just looks and tastes weird.
Also, they’re browning too much on the outside.

I do add extraflour when kneading as I knead by hand and the dough is very sticky.

Finally, the dough is shrinking when I use the cookie cutter!
Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks I advance!

oil is too hot . try 350f.
the air pocket probably because they weren't ready to be fried or the yeast was burned out already.
So the first proof was probably too long.
Try using barely warm water if you used hot water the first time, the idea is to slow the process down .
after rolling the dough out let it relax a minute before cutting if it shrinks.
Cover with plastic and let proof, they can take 1 hour to proof , maybe less.

Last edited:
Reaction score
Thanks so much for your response!
will Letting the douh rest after rolling help the Air bubbles too?
Also, how do I know when I’m over kneading? Thanks

Reaction score
oil is too hot . try 350f.