Raspberry sauce for brownies

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to baking and I really want to try some brownies with a fresh raspberry sauce. I'm worried that the water from the raspberry sauce will ruin the chocolate but I want the raspberry flavor in the brownies. I don't want to put fresh raspberries in the batter. What can I do to make sure the raspberry flavor is in the batter and not ruin the chocolate?

Reaction score
Hello Carla welcome to the forum.

The key is controlling the added moisture content that comes with mixing fruit purée into a batter.

There’s two approaches you can use. One would be to use raspberry jam. since the moisture content is very low, there’s less chance of adverse impact to the batter.

The other approach would be to reduce the moisture in the purée. Rose Levy Beranbaum devised a method for fruit purée that maximizes the fruit flavor while reducing moisture. It’s a bit time consuming, but if you want to use fruit this is really the best approach.

The method is in Levy Beranbaum’s cookbooks. The link below is to an independent blogger who posted the instructions.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/localkitchenblog.com/2009/06/19/roses-strawberry-puree/amp/

Reaction score
Hi! I'm new to baking and I really want to try some brownies with a fresh raspberry sauce. I'm worried that the water from the raspberry sauce will ruin the chocolate but I want the raspberry flavor in the brownies. I don't want to put fresh raspberries in the batter. What can I do to make sure the raspberry flavor is in the batter and not ruin the chocolate?
I’m not sure how helpful this is, but I recall reading a recipe a while back for strawberry cake that seemed promising. Evidently fresh strawberries were not able to achieve an intense strawberry flavor, but frozen ones were. Maybe using frozen raspberries would provide flavor without the moisture problem?

Reaction score