Soft, spreading dough won't hold it's shape

Reaction score
Hi all, hoping someone can help!

I'm quite new at making sourdough bread and my problem every time is that once the dough completes bulk fermentation and I shape it, it won't hold it's shape. It's just too soft. It bakes ok, but the resulting loaves are often quite flat.

At first I thought it was high hydration and have reduced to 65% which initially makes a very firm, resistant dough ... but over the course of bulk fermentation becomes softer and stickier.

Is my starter to blame? I ferment it overnight and by the morning I'd say it's just about on the right side of becoming acid. Maybe it's gone too far and isn't active enough?

Maybe I'm manipulating it incorrectly? I do a 30 min autolyse, then stretch/fold for several minutes. Thereafter I stretch/fold every 45 - 60 mins.

Bulk happens at about 21 deg. celsius for a long period till all the usual signs are there - wobble, bubbles, volume rise, aroma, etc.

Am I overproofing? I don't think so, but maybe... I wouldn't say the dough has gone soupy - the window pane is still holding up really well so I think the gluten structure is still intact.

Am I underproofing? Well I did manage the required % rise in volume, so maybe not that

Am I not shaping it properly? I wonder if this could be the issue... I'm doing my best, but it's tricky, right? I can certainly achieve a respectably tight boule which sits up proudly, but then it softens and spreads during bench rest and final proving.

Any suggestions would be welcome.

Thanks!

Reaction score
Even high hydration dough will hold its shape. Most likely it’s your shaping skills. Keep practicing shaping with the lower hydration dough until you get it.

This is the proper way to shape. The dough in this video is some thing like 80% hydration, so very high.