Bad chocolate cake: Problem with recipe or me?

Reaction score
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. I’m excited to learn more about baking.

I tried a no-electric mixer recipe for chocolate cake, and the result was not great. The flavor was so-so, but the texture was totally wrong. The cake came out quite rubbery.

I’m wondering if the problem is the recipe or my poor technique? If the recipe doesn’t reflect any glaring issues, perhaps I over-mixed the batter? I really tried to avoid this.

The ingredients were:

4.25 oz (1 cup) all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup coffee, warm not boiling hot
2/3 cup plain yogurt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 large egg, room temperature, lightly beaten
3/4 cup cane sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

One alteration I made was using cake flour instead of AP. I’m not sure that substitution would result in a rubbery texture, but I’m an amateur to cake making.

Thanks for reading.

Reaction score
Hello everyone. This is my first time posting. I’m excited to learn more about baking.

I tried a no-electric mixer recipe for chocolate cake, and the result was not great. The flavor was so-so, but the texture was totally wrong. The cake came out quite rubbery.

I’m wondering if the problem is the recipe or my poor technique? If the recipe doesn’t reflect any glaring issues, perhaps I over-mixed the batter? I really tried to avoid this.

The ingredients were:

4.25 oz (1 cup) all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup coffee, warm not boiling hot
2/3 cup plain yogurt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 large egg, room temperature, lightly beaten
3/4 cup cane sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

One alteration I made was using cake flour instead of AP. I’m not sure that substitution would result in a rubbery texture, but I’m an amateur to cake making.

Thanks for reading.