Hot cross buns yeast

Reaction score
Hi everyone I’m hoping someone can help.I have been using a old Delilah hot cross bun recipe that calls for 1 tablespoon of yeast dissolved in hot water and sugar which I’ve been doing for a few years .this year however I’ve noticed the yeast I’ve been using should be added dry to the mix and then fluids later.whats the problem with doing it how I was?.should I be adding the yeast to the dry mix then adding the sugar and hot water that would have been in the original recipe to my other liquids.also it seems I should be using less yeast than the 1 tablespoon the recipe called for.
Really hope someone can help I’m quite confused many thanks Lee

Reaction score
Hi everyone I’m hoping someone can help.I have been using a old Delilah hot cross bun recipe that calls for 1 tablespoon of yeast dissolved in hot water and sugar which I’ve been doing for a few years .this year however I’ve noticed the yeast I’ve been using should be added dry to the mix and then fluids later.whats the problem with doing it how I was?.should I be adding the yeast to the dry mix then adding the sugar and hot water that would have been in the original recipe to my other liquids.also it seems I should be using less yeast than the 1 tablespoon the recipe called for.
Really hope someone can help I’m quite confused many thanks Lee

Welcome to the forum.

Rehydration of yeast depends on the type of yeast you’re using.

Active dry yeast is a different species of yeast from Instant dry yeast.

Active dry yeast has much larger granules as well. Given the size of the granules, it is best to rehydrated before use. But if you add it to the dry ingredients, it will still work. It will just take longer for the dough to develop.

Active dry yeast develops slowly than Instant dry yeast. It is best suited for dough with long fermentation and multiple ferment.

Older recipes call for rehydrating the yeast since Active dry yeast was the only dry yeast available.

========