Lemon Meringue pie

Reaction score
HI, I am an experienced baker, but one thing i always seem to get is a soggy bottom on my lemon Merigune pie. I ALWAYS blind bake my pastry. But i find the filling tends to weep a little, thus making my pastry a bit on the soggy side. Any of you lovely people experienced the same, or have a fix for me? I am hoping to make on this evening!
Thanks! ;)

Reaction score
HI, I am an experienced baker, but one thing i always seem to get is a soggy bottom on my lemon Merigune pie. I ALWAYS blind bake my pastry. But i find the filling tends to weep a little, thus making my pastry a bit on the soggy side. Any of you lovely people experienced the same, or have a fix for me? I am hoping to make on this evening!
Thanks! ;)

Welcome to the forum. There are a number of factors that cause the weeping: type of thickener, temperature the filling is heated to, steam from the hot filling trapped between the filling and the meringue.

A standard lemon meringue filling is thickened with corn flour. Unfortunately, cornflour breaks down when exposed to heat for a long time.

Also the egg in the filling will break down when exposed too high a temperature. Trying a different lemon filling, specifically Pierre Herme’s lemon filling should eliminate most of the problems that cause the filling to weep.

Pierre Herme’s lemon cream filling is a stoke of genius. Herme the culprit in a runny filling is a lack of emulsification. By adding the butter after the custard is cooked and cooled a bit, keeps the butter from separating. The result is a filling that does not leak or spill out of the crust when sliced. And too this filling is light, very lemony, and delicious. It is now my go to lemon filling. A couple of weeks ago I made this for a lemon tart. After the tart was sliced the remainder set on the dining room table for several hours. The pie did not leak, ooze, or break down in any other way.

Here’s the recipe.