White Chocolate Buttercream FAIL

Reaction score
Hi!

I'm really new to baking but Im just wondering if anyone has any insight into my epic fail at making white chocolate buttercream.

It didn't come out fluffy so Im wondering if perhaps I didn't cool the chocolate long enough and it melted the butter?

Any thoughts would be appreciated!!

Reaction score
I used a hand mixer. First I melted the chocolate and as it was cooling, I whipped the butter. Added the vanilla and sugar and whipped on low and then added the sugar and again, whipped it.

Here's the recipe.

12 oz of white chocolate
2 sticks of butter
1 tsp of vanilla
1 cup of powdered sugar.

Reaction score
Hi Lindzer , Not sure when you added the melted chocolate, looks like it was omitted when you wrote the instructions but here is the instructions for this recipe.

The instructions for this recipe is...
In a large bowl, using a handheld electric mixer, beat the butter at medium speed until creamy. Beat in the melted white chocolate. Add the confectioners' sugar and vanilla and beat at low speed, scraping the sides and bottom of the bowl, until light and fluffy.

I've made this a few times and the butter has to be really whipped (Sometimes I would add a small amount of whole milk or cream (few teaspoons) just to lighten it up a bit more while whipping). The white chocolate just has to be melted and cooled to room temp. (any warmer and the oils reacts to the butter and does not mix well).
Its also important to mix on low speed after adding the sugar and vanilla or you get separation. Which is why you whip the butter and white chocolate first to get the volume. Hope this helps

Reaction score
Hi Lindzer , Not sure when you added the melted chocolate, looks like it was omitted when you wrote the instructions but here is the instructions for this recipe.

The instructions for this recipe is...