Wild vs Store Bought Yeast & English Muffin Woes

Reaction score
I'm mostly looking for some good resources to educate myself on the general science or chemistry of bread.

That said:

I am not a scientist or a chemist. They were my least favorite subjects in school. Now that I'm older, (much older), I wish I would have paid more attention.
I am a senior (61) who loves to learn new things. I brewed beer for several years, (fascinating, but expensive hobby). I experimented with roasting coffee beans. I've dabbled in water chemistry (for both of those hobbies, as well as now bread making).

I spent several months trying to learn about artisan sourdough bread. I bought the bannetons, a couple different lames, 2 dutch ovens, and a pantry full of flours and seeds. At first I assumed I didn't like artisan sourdough because I was doing it wrong. After I became fairly proficient and experimented with several different formulae, and eventually came to the conclusion that I just don't like artisan sourdough bread. Friends and family loved it, so I still make it occasionally.

My newest obsession has been English Muffins. Specifically, sourdough English Muffins, and more specifically, sourdough and buttermilk English Muffins. I have a vigorous 100% hydration starter and I keep a jug of buttermilk I started from an heirloom culture going. I was following (sort of) a King Arthur recipe I found. I made a few tweaks. I substitute sugar for Dry Malt Extract, (which I used to build yeast starters back in my brewing days). I've been experimenting trying to find a less time-consuming and labor intensive method. However, not fully understanding the science and chemistry behind everything makes it hit or miss. Just when I think I understand a concept I come up with another batch of hockey pucks. There is a plethora of information available online, however most of it seems to contradict. One source says NEVER do this and the next source says ALWAYS do that.

This last batch was: