Marshmallow Frosting on Cake....

Reaction score
I'm making a Halloween cake for work tomorrow. I thought I would make a marshmallow frosting since a lot of people don't like buttercream where I work.

I don't have any black food coloring, so I thought I would puree some fudge cookies and mix with the melted marshmallow for "dirt" for my Halloween cake.

I've never done this before with marshmallow fluff, so I was wondering , will mixing chocolate cookie crumbs make this frosting hard, gummy, or inedible?

Are there any "tricks" to keeping marshmallow fluff frosting fluffy?

Thanks!

Reaction score
I've been away so only just seen your topic now! How did it go? I've made a marshmallow frosting before but never mixed anything with it - it is very sticky though, so even if it doesn't work mixing the crumbs in, you could always sprinkle them on it. Which approach did you opt for?

Reaction score
I've been away so only just seen your topic now! How did it go? I've made a marshmallow frosting before but never mixed anything with it - it is very sticky though, so even if it doesn't work mixing the crumbs in, you could always sprinkle them on it. Which approach did you opt for?

OMG! Never EVER again!!!
WHAT a mess to work with!!!!

The cake turned out alright and people liked it, but it was a NIGHTMARE to work with that fluff!!!!!
It starts hardening the instant I take it off the double boiler, and even when I added a lot of water to it, it was still a huge mess!!

Unless you seal your cake with a light pre-frosting, or seal it with a thin layer of fondant....and THEN put the cake on a rack and POUR the fluff all over the cake........DONT USE FLUFF!

If I ever use fluff for cake frosting again, I will be POURING it over the cake like ganache!

And yes, I got to mix in some chocolate cookie crumbs, but had to add more water to it to loosen it up.